2021 SSOA 在线研讨会

非洲的联觉:发现、意识、研究和外展

我们很荣幸能够支持由非洲联觉协会与国际联觉者、艺术家和科学家协会合作举办的虚拟研讨会。 特邀演讲嘉宾包括:

主讲人:Mahmoud Bukar-Maina 博士,博士,非洲神经科学的科学家、教育家和倡导者

Richard Cytowic 博士,医学博士,MFA,与国际联觉者、艺术家和科学家协会主席 Sean A. Day 博士对话

Celsus Sente 博士,博士,讲师,马克雷雷大学,坎帕拉,乌干达

阿比奥拉·奥贡桑沃, 非洲联觉协会创始人

Sheila Clare Butungi 博士, DVM, SSOA 秘书和多联体 

Julia Simner 博士,博士, MULTISENSE 联觉工具包的开发者

Jamie Ward 博士,博士, 萨塞克斯大学神经科学系主任 

安东·多索,创始人兼科学主管,俄罗斯通感社区

门票可用 点击此处。

谢谢莫斯科!

莫斯科可能被称为 第三罗马 但这是参加者心目中的第一 通感: 跨科学和艺术认知的跨感觉方面。 5日系列活动在16十月2019th举行,新闻发布会在俄罗斯最大的国际新闻提供者RIA Novosti总部举行。 IASAS,柴可夫斯基音乐学院和美国通感协会的代表聚集一堂,由Natalia Loseva主持了有关该主题的生动对话。 通感:现象的研究及其在艺术和创造力中的作用。 参加会议的有IASAS主席Sean A. Day,柴可夫斯基音乐学院的艺术史学家和副教授Elena Rovenko,艺术家兼ASA主席Carol Steen,通感历史学家JörgJewanski,IASAS秘书CC Hart,音乐家和神经科学家Kaitlyn Hova,以及IASAS董事会成员Anton Dorso是现代儿童MGPPU跨学科研究中心的“感觉:孩子和父母”研究小组的负责人,莫斯科国立心理与教育大学的高级讲师。

公开演讲,音乐会和展览 莫斯科博物馆 跟着新闻发布会。 一场以IASAS参与艺术家为特色的装置,包括Art Sensorium的作品,围绕着观众,由IASAS总裁Sean A. Day博士进行了开幕演讲。 音乐会钢琴演奏家Svetlana Rudenko博士以充满活力的音色演绎了Scriabin的Sonata No5,F大调专业的作品53,并在爱尔兰都柏林三一学院的Maura McDonnell教授创作的影像中为观众带来了惊喜。 凯特琳·霍瓦(Kaitlyn Hova)向观众介绍了她的发明-霍瓦林,这是与丈夫马特·霍瓦(Matt Hova)合作创作的3-D印花小提琴,克里斯汀·索芬(ChristineSöffing)将人群沉浸在实验性的音乐音景中。 晚上在Proviant Cafe举行的贵宾聚会结束了。

莫斯科国立心理与教育大学 主持了研讨会的前两天。 在MSUPE总裁柴可夫斯基音乐学院的Vasily Rubistov博士和Konstantin Zenkin博士致欢迎辞后,MFA的Richard Cytowic博士(医学博士,医学博士)在会议上发表了主题演讲“联觉:我们知道什么? 我们想知道什么?” Konstantin Zenkin博士随后发表了题为“音乐剧:其本质和艺术地位”的演讲。 我们在MSUPE开幕式上的其他演讲者包括IASAS科学总监Romke Rouw博士,萨塞克斯大学的Jamie Ward博士和伯尔尼大学的Beat Meier博士。 

海报展示挂在MSUPE的三楼,包括来自阿根廷(Gaby Cardoso),澳大利亚(Joshua Berger),中国(Ninghui Xiong),俄罗斯(SY Uzilov和J. Slovachevskaya),苏格兰(Anna MasCasasdesus)的大型视觉格式的论文。 )和美国(Appelusa Fleming-McGlynn,CC Hart和Anna Mantheakis)。 主题包括对音乐频率的联觉感知,舞蹈和联觉以及联运注意的差异等。

来自希腊的多媒体艺术家Christos Parapakgidis在MSUPE上展示了他的作品“所罗门案例”。 参观互动装置的参观者在观看俄罗斯最著名的合成麻醉品多媒体展览时参加了闻香会。 此外,我们的艺术展览以国际艺术家的精选作品为特色,从莫斯科博物馆迁至MSUPE。 Playtronica和Art Sensorium的互动装置为画廊的参观者创造了感官盛宴。

一场音乐会 柴可夫斯基音乐学院 闭幕会议的第一天。 音乐表演包括Svetlana Rudenko,Kaitlin Hova和Matt Hova,以及《地狱之花》,其中包括加拿大联觉协会的创始人Greg Jarvis,Daniella Friesen,Sean Matthew Berry,Stephen Head和Ian Edward Thorn。

IASAS在以下会议上展示了超过50个独特的扬声器 莫斯科国立心理与教育大学 然后在10月19th周六移至 柴可夫斯基音乐学院 在会议的最后两天。 我们的艺术展览被安装在一个大堂画廊,并且我们的演讲者就数字艺术,嗅觉和艺术,图像,运动和手势,音乐认知和美学等方面的联觉进行了演讲。 

10月19日晚上,2021将会议参与者聚集在 莫斯科瑞吉酒店屋顶大厅 享用优雅的晚餐。 凯特琳·霍瓦(Kaitlyn Hova)的霍瓦林(Hovalin)用精选的音乐来招待食客。 Polina Dimova在Hova发光的3d印刷小提琴上为我们带来了即兴演奏的传统俄罗斯民歌。

会议的最后一天包括有关比较文学和音乐学,屏幕艺术和视觉技术中认知的交叉感觉方面的论文,以及有关视觉音乐的历史表征的会议。 周日的演讲以关于联觉会议的未来的圆桌对话结束,与会者希望在下次活动中解决这些话题。

通感:跨科学和艺术的认知的跨感觉方面在音乐会上闭幕 柴可夫斯基音乐学院的拉赫玛尼诺夫音乐厅 与格里高利·卡罗尔(Gregory Carroll)指挥的学术室内乐团合作演奏Playtronica的实验音乐。 彼得·特雷敏(Peter Theremin)是他祖父创作的同名乐器的特别表演嘉宾。 

莫斯科是5艺术,科学和联觉时代的绝佳举办地。 我们有来自300个国家/地区的近25个参与者和来自超过100个人的演讲。 这些事件是由导演奥拉·潘克拉托娃(Ola Pankratova)拍摄的,她与她的摄制组合作拍摄了关于联觉的纪录片。 当我们进一步了解这个令人兴奋的项目时,我们将及时通知您。 

2021中与您见面的华盛顿特区专题讨论会和活动!
IASAS秘书CC Hart

RIA Novosti总统府新闻发布会由Natalia Loseva,Sean A. Day,Elena Rovenko,Carol Steen,JörgJewanski,CC Hart,Kaitlyn Hova和Anton Dorso主持。
晚上在莫斯科; Svetlana Rudenko,Sean Day,Richard Cytowic; 肖恩·戴(Sean Day),詹姆斯·万纳顿(James Wannerton),安东·多索(Anton Dorso)
阿比奥拉·奥贡桑沃(Abiola Ogunsanwo),尤利德·格克(Jü​​lideGök),马克·克尼尔(Mark Knaier),安妮卡·约翰逊(Annika Johnson); 细节来自 瓦伦蒂娜(Valentina Tereshkova) 蒂莫西·莱登(Timothy Layden) Carol Steen,Jasmin Sinha,Svetlana Rudenko,CC Hart,ChristineSöffing
MSUPE总裁Vitaly Rubtsove,Joerg Jewansky,Richard Cytowic,ChristineSöffing,CC Hart,Anton Dorso,Sean Day; 凯莉·菲尔曼(Carrie Firman)对克卢维尔(Klüver)形式常数的图解; 喀山大教堂
晚上在莫斯科; 柴可夫斯基音乐学院的天文主义者与彼得·特雷敏(Peter Theremin); 克里斯托斯·帕拉帕基迪斯(Christos Parapakgidis)
Svetlana Rudenko和CC Hart在会议晚宴上,瑞吉酒店Nikolskaya; 圣巴西尔大教堂在晚上; 毛拉·麦克唐纳(Maura McDonnell),斯维特拉娜·鲁丹科(Svetlana Rudenko),卡罗尔·斯蒂恩(Carol Steen)和詹姆斯·万纳顿(James Wannerton)
仍然来自“联觉与艺术”,作者是Greta Berman和Carol Steen; Christos Parapakgidis的“所罗门案”安装; MSUPE的艺术作品,包括蒂莫西·莱登(Timothy Layden),玛西娅·斯米拉克(Marcia Smilack)和杰里·哈恩(Geri Hahn)的作品
Geri Hahn的艺术来自 而且,但是,或者; Geri Hahn,Ann LePore和Maura McDonnell; 言语不能说的,由Carrie Firman创作

25个国家和计数中…

IASAS很荣幸地宣布,我们期待来自代表25不同国家的艺术家和学者在我们的协作会议“Synaesthesia:跨科学和艺术认知的跨感官方面”的贡献。 这一系列活动将于10月17th通过20th,2019在俄罗斯莫斯科举行。 我们的主持人来自以下国家:

阿根廷澳大利亚; 奥地利; 白俄罗斯; 比利时; 巴西; 保加利亚; 加拿大; 中国; 德国; 希腊; 伊拉克; 爱尔兰; 意大利; 卢森堡; 新西兰; 尼日利亚; 俄国; 西班牙; 瑞士; 荷兰人; 火鸡; 英国乌克兰; & 美国。

此外,我们很高兴与以下组织合作:

莫斯科国立心理与教育大学

莫斯科国立柴可夫斯基音乐学院

莫斯科博物馆

美国Synesthesia协会

FundaciónInternacionalArtecittà

英国联觉协会

俄罗斯联觉协会

德国Synaesthesia协会

加拿大Synesthesia协会

圣彼得堡跨学科研究所

Playtronica

Art Sensorium Group

俄新社

IASAS特别荣幸地邀请苏塞克斯大学的Jamie Ward博士主讲“极端通感”。 沃德博士的讲话目前定于13:00于10月16日星期四在莫斯科国立心理学和教育大学举行。 请参阅上面的链接,以了解Ward博士的TEDx演讲“The Syioushesia of the Intenesthesia”。

在莫斯科见!

ОсновнымдокладчикомМосковскойконференцииIMASASобъявленД-р。 проф。 РичардСайтовик

Международнаяассоциациясинестетов,деятелейискусстваинауки(IASAS)всотрудничествеспартнерскимиорганизациямиимеетчестьсообщить,чтоосновнымдокладчикомIIМеждународнойконференции«Синестезияимежсенсорныеаспектыпознавательнойдеятельностивнаукеиискусстве»,сталРичардСайтовик(理查德·锡奇)。 更多信息17-20октября2019годавМоскве,

РичардСайтовик,MD,MFA(доктормедицины,магистризящныхискусств),широкоизвестентем,чтопривлеквниманиенаучнойобщественностиквопросусинестезиипосленесколькихдесятковлетотрицанияважностиэтойтемыдлянауки。 Послетого,какв1979исследовательвновьоткрылтемусинестезии,егоколлеги-неврологипродолжалиоткрытовыражатьсомнениевистинномсуществованиисинестезиивкачественейрофизиологическогоявления,предупреждаяегоотом,чтоэтатема«слишкомстраннаяиотдаетмистицизмомэпохиНью-Эйдж»ичто更多信息 - ожидаемаяреакциязаскорузлыхконсерваторовнато,чтовыходитзапределыихпонимания。

Сегоднясинестезияпризнанафундаментальнымявлением,раскрытиемеханизмовкотороголежитвосновенашегопониманиячеловеческогоразумаичеловеческойприродывцелом。 Какмыспособныприйтикпониманиютого,чтотакоебытьдругим? Каклюди,необладающиесинестезией,понимаюткросс-сенсорныеметафорическиеобразы,такиекак«кричащийцвет»и«сладкийголос»? Этолишьнекоторыевопросы,которыеставитпереднамиизучениеэтогозахватывающегофеноменавосприятия。

Р. Сайтовиквыступалслекциямивомногихкультурныхинаучныхцентрахповсемумиру,включаясимпозуим«Музыкаимозг»вбиблиотекеКонгрессаСША,НАСА,симпозиумIBMпоестественнымалгоритмамкомпьютерныхтехнологий,Смитсоновскийинститут,СтамбульскоебиенналеиМузейХиршхорна。 BBC,РезультатыисследованийРичардаСайтовикаполучилиосвещениевтрехдокументальныхфильмахBBC。

РичардСайтовикполучилстепеньмагистраизящныхискусствпописательскомумастерствувАмериканскомуниверситете(美国大学),являетсявыпускникомуниверситетовДьюка,Уайк-ФорестиуниверситетаДжорджаВашингтона,атакжеЛондонскойнациональнойклиникинервныхболезней。 НастоящиймоментРичардСайтовикзанимаетпостпрофессора-клиницистафакультетаНеврологииУниверситетаДжорджаВашингтона。

IASAS与我们的合作组织合作,很高兴宣布Richard Cytowic博士将作为主题发言人出席 通感:跨科学和艺术的跨认知的认知方面。 本次研讨会及其系列艺术活动将于10月17th通过20th 2019在俄罗斯莫斯科举行。

Richard E. Cytowic,医学博士,MFA 最令人知道的是,经过几十年的不相信,将联觉回归主流科学。 当他在1979中重新发现它时,他的神经学同事将这种特性视为伪造,警告说它“太奇怪,太新时代”并且会“毁掉”他的职业生涯 - 这是正统的一种典型反应,无论是不能理解还是不想理解。

今天,联觉被认为是理解人类思想和人类状况的基础。 我们如何理解不像我们的人? 非联觉者如何理解像“吵闹的颜色”或“甜蜜的人”这样的交叉感官隐喻?这些只是这个令人着迷的感性特征提出的一些问题。

Cytowic博士向世界各地的文化机构和表演场所讲话。 过去的邀请包括美国国会图书馆的“音乐与大脑”研讨会,美国国家航空航天局,IBM的大脑启发计算机,史密森学会,伊斯坦布尔双年展和Hirshhorn博物馆。 三部BBC纪录片记录了他的开创性工作。

他拥有美国大学创意写作硕士学位,并且是杜克大学,维克森林大学和乔治华盛顿大学的校友,还有伦敦国立神经疾病医院。 他目前是乔治华盛顿大学神经病学临床教授。

一个伟大的合作

俄罗斯有句传统谚语,说明联盟,联盟和团队合作的价值:

“Берисьдружно,небудетгрузно”

“如果我们所有人一起抓住它,它就不会感到如此沉重” 

IASAS正在努力在世界上最迷人的城市之一中开展宏伟的合作。 在莫斯科著名的博物馆和历史遗迹中,设想清新的空气,秋天时斑驳的叶子以及更少的游客。 考虑您有很多机会来了解有关跨模态感知的最新科学发现,并见证神经发散艺术家创作的绝妙艺术。 想象与熟悉的同事团圆,并有机会在联觉社区中结识新朋友。

秋天是参观莫斯科最可爱的季节之一。 请在2019年XNUMX月加入国际合觉,艺术家和科学家协会,我们将在美丽的俄罗斯发起一系列活动,包括由莫斯科国立心理学和教育大学主办的第二次通感研讨会。

IASAS很高兴与几个特殊组织合作,因为我们促进了一个庆祝通感艺术和科学的宏伟合作。 我们很荣幸能够获得以下人员的共同创意支持和参与:

莫斯科国立心理教育大学

莫斯科国立柴可夫斯基音乐学院

FundaciónInternacionalArtecittà

英国联觉协会

俄罗斯联觉协会

美国Synesthesia协会 

其他合作者将在未来几个月内公布,以及有关参与演讲者,演示者,活动和场地的信息。

我们期待着在温暖的Здравствуйте与您在莫斯科问候! 你可以学习更多用俄语说“你好”的方法 点击此处.

CC哈特
IASAS秘书

 

莱昂纳多艺术科学晚会(LASER)@加州大学洛杉矶分校

IASAS非常高兴能支持我们的舞蹈协调员和联觉舞蹈体验艺术总监Appelusa在今天晚上在由加利福尼亚大学洛杉矶分校和加利福尼亚纳米系统研究所主办的LASER上的演讲。 阿佩鲁萨(Appelusa)将讲述她在多种形式的联觉中的经历,以及通过视觉艺术揭示联觉的决心。 今晚在LASER加入Appelusa的是合奏和大师调香师Daniel Krasofski,以及Building Bridges Art Exchange特别展览协调员Daniel Schuster。 查看我们今晚活动的现场直播 点击此处.

加州大学洛杉矶分校6月7

 

IASAS在The Huffington Post中有特色

HuffPo

IASAS赞助的艺术展“通感: 蓝色的味道是什么? 刊登在《赫芬顿邮报》上! 艺术评论家,策展人和散文作家Shana Nys Dambrot在她的文章中探讨了这个互动展览的影响 “请触摸艺术:在BBAX上,蓝色的味道是什么”。 Drambot女士的批评出现在10月16th版中。 而且,特色图片“蓝门”是由我们自己的IASAS创始成员和多才多艺的艺术家Appelusa!

此外, 通感: 蓝色的味道是什么? 已经延长。 该展览原定于10月21st闭幕,已于11月25th举行。 如果您在洛杉矶,请成为我们的客人参加这个令人兴奋的装置。 入场免费向公众开放。

今晚! Kaitlyn Hova在BBAX

Kaitlyn Hova和Hovalin

小提琴家,联觉者和企业家 凯特琳霍瓦 在加州大学洛杉矶分校艺术中心举办的IASAS Synaesthesia研讨会上,观众们惊叹于她对Hovalin的表现。 这把3D印刷的小提琴是对凯特琳和她的丈夫马特的热爱,但经过多次迭代,最后的创作令人惊叹。

10月21st在5加入IASAS:00PM为Kaitlyn Hova在洛杉矶罕见地区演出。 Kaitlyn将谈论她的联觉经历,并演奏她的Hovalin,它配有一个发光的LED阵列,使得仪器在Kaitlyn听到特定音高时看到的颜色发光。

本次活动是免费的,向公众开放。 10月周六21st在5:00PM

建筑桥梁艺术交流
2525 Michigan Avenue Unit F2
加利福尼亚圣莫尼卡

10月4日星期四19th:Joel Salinas博士

Joel Salinas博士,医学博士,工商管理硕士

国际通灵,艺术家和科学家协会很荣幸能够举办一个晚会 Joel Salinas博士,医学博士一书的作者 镜面触摸; 来自医生的笔记,可以感受到你的痛苦。 上 星期四 十月19th在6:00PM 萨利纳斯博士读了他的迷人回忆录 建筑桥梁艺术交流 在加利福尼亚州圣莫尼卡的画廊,与会者沉浸在一个恒星的通感艺术装置中。 由加州大学洛杉矶分校艺术中心和建筑桥梁艺术交流中心共同举办的招待会将跟随萨利纳斯博士的阅读。

Mirror-Touch:在10月19th活动中,可以感受到疼痛的医生的笔记,由 柴油书店布伦特伍德谁将经营一家“弹出式”书店。 此外,Salinas博士将在时间允许的情况下为您的Mirror Touch版本签名。

本次活动是 免费 并向公众开放。 期待在10月19th见到你!

 

加州梦

 

在SoCal,秋季非常漂亮。 凉爽,经常阴沉的早晨让位于温暖的日子和晴朗的天空。 这是访问洛杉矶的完美季节,尤其是今年秋天,IASAS推出了一系列关于通感的活动。 以中心为中心 加州大学洛杉矶分校 校园在韦斯特伍德附近,和 建筑桥梁艺术交流 在圣塔莫尼卡,IASAS将举办艺术装置,音乐表演,讲座和学术通感研讨会。 此外,我们正在合作 洛杉矶女孩 和synesthete艺术家 Appelusa 因为她通过交叉模态感知的镜头创作了一个音乐和舞蹈之夜。

希望在阳光明媚的加州见到你!

CC哈特,
IASAS秘书

Thank you Moscow!

Moscow may be known as the third Rome yet it is first in the hearts of participants who attended Synaesthesia: Cross-Sensory Aspects of Cognition Across Science and Art. This 5 day series of events launched October 16th, 2019 with a press conference at the headquarters of RIA Novosti, Russia’s largest provider of international news. Representatives from IASAS, the Tchaikovsky Conservatory, and the American Synesthesia Association gathered for a lively dialogue moderated by Natalia Loseva, on the topic Synaesthesia: study of the phenomenon and its role in art and creativity. Participants included IASAS president Sean A. Day, art historian and associate professor at the Tchaikovsky Conservatory Elena Rovenko, artist and ASA president Carol Steen, synaesthesia historian Jörg Jewanski, IASAS secretary CC Hart, musician and neuroscientist Kaitlyn Hova, and IASAS board member Anton Dorso, head of the research group “Synesthesia: children and parents” at the center for interdisciplinary research of modern childhood MGPPU, and senior lecturer at Moscow State University for Psychology and Education.

A public lecture, concert, and exhibition at the Museum of Moscow followed the press conference. An installation featuring IASAS participating artists and including works by Art Sensorium surrounded the audience for an opening talk by IASAS president Dr. Sean A. Day. Concert pianist Dr. Svetlana Rudenko wowed the crowd with her energetic rendition of Scriabin’s Sonata No5, opus 53 in F sharp major, accompanied by visuals created by professor Maura McDonnell from Trinity College, Dublin Ireland. Kaitlyn Hova introduced the audience to her invention the Hovalin, a 3-D printed violin created in collaboration with her husband Matt Hova, and Christine Söffing immersed the crowd in an experimental music soundscape. A VIP gathering at Proviant Cafe closed out the evening.

Moscow State University of Psychology and Education hosted the initial two days of the symposium. After welcome addresses by MSUPE president Dr. Vasily Rubistov and Dr. Konstantin Zenkin from the Tchaikovsky Conservatory, Dr. Richard Cytowic, MD, PhD, MFA opened the conference with a keynote speech “Synesthesia: what do we know? What do we want to know?” Dr. Konstantin Zenkin followed with his presentation “The Musical: its essence and place in art”. Additional speakers on our opening morning at MSUPE included IASAS Science Director Dr. Romke Rouw, Dr. Jamie Ward from the University of Sussex, and Dr. Beat Meier from the University of Bern. 

Poster presentations were hung on the third floor of MSUPE and included papers in large scale visual format from Argentina (Gaby Cardoso), Australia (Joshua Berger), China (Ninghui Xiong), Russia (S. Y. Uzilov and J. Slovachevskaya) Scotland (Anna MasCasasdesus), and the USA (Appelusa Fleming-McGlynn, CC Hart, Anna Mantheakis). Topics included synaesthetic perceptions of musical frequencies, dance and synaesthesia, and differences in intermodal attention, among other topics.

Christos Parapakgidis, a multimedia artist from Greece, displayed his work “Solomon’s Case” at MSUPE. Visitors to the interactive installation participated in scent and taste encounters as they viewed a multimedia exhibit on Russia’s most famous synaesthete. Additionally, our art exhibit featuring works from an international selection of artists made the move from the Museum of Moscow to MSUPE. Interactive installations from Playtronica and Art Sensorium created a sensory feast for visitors to the gallery.

A concert at the Tchaikovsky Conservatory closed out the first day of the conference. Musical performances included Svetlana Rudenko, Kaitlin Hova and Matt Hova, and the Flowers of Hell, featuring Greg Jarvis, founder of the Canadian Synesthesia Association, with Daniella Friesen, Sean Matthew Berry, Stephen Head, and Ian Edward Thorn.

The IASAS presented more than 50 unique speakers at Moscow State University of Psychology and Education before moving on Saturday, October 19th to the Tchaikovsky Conservatory for the final two days of the conference. Our art exhibit was installed in a lobby gallery, and our speakers presented on topics including synaesthesia in regard to digital arts, olfaction and art, image, movement, and gesture, music cognition and aesthetics. 

The evening of October 19th 2021 brought conference participants together at the St. Regis Moscow Rooftop Hall for an elegant dinner. Kaitlyn Hova entertained the diners with a selection of tunes on her Hovalin. Polina Dimova gave us an impromptu performance of traditional Russian folksongs on the Hova’s glowing 3d printed violin.

Our final day of the conference included papers on cross-sensory aspects of cognition in comparative literature and musicology, screen arts and visual technology, along with a session focused on historical representations of visual music. Sunday’s presentations closed with a roundtable dialogue on the future of synaesthesia conferences and the topics participants would like to see addressed at the next event.

Synaesthesia: Cross_sensory Aspects of Cognition Across Science and Art closed with a concert in the Tchaikovsky Conservatory’s Rachmaninoff Hall with Playtronica’s performance of experimental music in collaboration with an academic chamber orchestra conducted by Gregory Carroll. Peter Theremin was a special guest performer on the eponymous instrument created by his grandfather. 

Moscow was a wonderful host for our 5 days of art, science and synaesthesia. We had almost 300 participants from 25 countries and presentations from over 100 individuals. These events were captured by director Ola Pankratova who is working with her film crew on a documentary about synaesthesia. We will keep you posted as we learn more about this exciting project. 

See you in 2021 for our Washington DC symposium and events!
CC Hart, IASAS Secretary

Press Conference in RIA Novosti’s Presidential Hall featuring Natalia Loseva, Sean A. Day, Elena Rovenko, Carol Steen, Jörg Jewanski, CC Hart, Kaitlyn Hova, and Anton Dorso.
Moscow at night; Svetlana Rudenko, Sean Day, Richard Cytowic; Sean Day, James Wannerton, Anton Dorso
Abiola Ogunsanwo, Jülide Gök, Mark Knaier, Annika Johnson; detail from Valentina Tereshkova by Timothy Layden; Carol Steen, Jasmin Sinha, Svetlana Rudenko, CC Hart, Christine Söffing
MSUPE President Vitaly Rubtsove, Joerg Jewansky, Richard Cytowic, Christine Söffing, CC Hart, Anton Dorso, Sean Day; Carrie Firman’s illustrations of Klüver’s form constants; Kazan Cathedral
Moscow at night; Tchaikovsky Conservatory oboist with Peter Theremin; Christos Parapakgidis
Svetlana Rudenko and CC Hart at the conference dinner, St. Regis Nikolskaya; St. Basil’s Basilica at night; Maura McDonnell, Svetlana Rudenko, Carol Steen, and James Wannerton
Still from “Synesthesia and Art” by Greta Berman and Carol Steen; close up of Christos Parapakgidis’ “Solomon’s Case” installation; art at MSUPE including works by Timothy Layden, Marcia Smilack, and Geri Hahn
Geri Hahn’s art from And, But, Or; Geri Hahn, Ann LePore, and Maura McDonnell; That Which Cannot be Said With Words, works by Carrie Firman

See You at the St. Regis

Our conference dinner celebrating Synaesthesia: Cross-Sensory Aspects of Cognition Across Science and Art will be held on Saturday October 19th at 7PM. Our venue is the beautiful Rooftop Hall at the St. Regis Nikolskaya, overlooking the Kremlin and Red Square. Tickets for this event are sold out.  

Nikolskaya Street, 12, 

St. Regis Moscow Nikolskaya

Moscow, Russia

25 Countries and Counting…

The IASAS is honored to announce that we anticipate contributions from artists and academics representing 25 different countries at our collaborative conference “Synaesthesia: Cross-Sensory Aspects of Cognition Across Science and Art”. This series of events will be held in Moscow, Russia, October 17th through 20th, 2019. Our presenters come from the following countries:

Angentina; Australia; Austria; Belarus; Belgium; Brazil; Bulgaria; Canada; China; Germany; Greece; Iraq; Ireland; Italy; Luxembourg; New Zealand; Nigeria; Russia; Spain; Switzerland; the Netherlands; Turkey; UK; Ukraine; & USA.

Additionally, we are delighted to collaborate with the following organizations:

Moscow State University of Psychology and Education

Moscow State Tchaikovsky Conservatory

Museum of Moscow

American Synesthesia Association

Fundación Internacional Artecittà

United Kingdom Synesthesia Association

Russian Synesthesia Association

German Synaesthesia Association

Canadian Synesthesia Association

Saint Petersburg Institute of Interdisciplinary Research

Playtronica

Art Sensorium Group

RIA Novosti

The IASAS is especially honored to have Jamie Ward, PhD, from the University of Sussex, presenting on the topic of “Extreme Synaesthesia”. Dr. Ward’s talk is currently slated for 13:00 on Thursday October 17th at Moscow State University of Psychology and Education. See the link above to Dr. Ward’s TEDx talk “The Curious World of Synesthesia”.

See you in Moscow!

Основным докладчиком Московской конференции IASAS объявлен Д-р. проф. Ричард Сайтовик

Международная ассоциация синестетов, деятелей искусства и науки (IASAS) в сотрудничестве с партнерскими организациями имеет честь сообщить, что основным докладчиком II Международной конференции «Синестезия и межсенсорные аспекты познавательной деятельности в науке и искусстве», стал Ричард Сайтовик (Richard Cytowic). Симпозиум и другие мероприятия конференции пройдут 17-20 октября 2019 года в Москве, Россия.

Ричард Сайтовик, MD, MFA (доктор медицины, магистр изящных искусств), широко известен тем, что привлек внимание научной общественности к вопросу синестезии после нескольких десятков лет отрицания важности этой темы для науки. После того, как в 1979 исследователь вновь открыл тему синестезии, его коллеги-неврологи продолжали открыто выражать сомнение в истинном существовании синестезии в качестве нейрофизиологического явления, предупреждая его о том, что эта тема «слишком странная и отдает мистицизмом эпохи Нью-Эйдж» и что она разрушит его карьеру – ожидаемая реакция заскорузлых консерваторов на то, что выходит за пределы их понимания.

Сегодня синестезия признана фундаментальным явлением, раскрытие механизмов которого лежит в основе нашего понимания человеческого разума и человеческой природы в целом. Как мы способны прийти к пониманию того, что такое быть другим? Как люди, не обладающие синестезией, понимают кросс-сенсорные метафорические образы, такие как «кричащий цвет» и «сладкий голос»? Это лишь некоторые вопросы, которые ставит перед нами изучение этого захватывающего феномена восприятия.

Р. Сайтовик выступал с лекциями во многих культурных и научных центрах по всему миру, включая симпозуим «Музыка и мозг» в библиотеке Конгресса США, НАСА, симпозиум IBM по естественным алгоритмам компьютерных технологий, Смитсоновский институт, Стамбульское биеннале и Музей Хиршхорна. Результаты исследований Ричарда Сайтовика получили освещение в трех документальных фильмах BBC.

Ричард Сайтовик получил степень магистра изящных искусств по писательскому мастерству в Американском университете (American University), является выпускником университетов Дьюка, Уайк-Форест и университета Джорджа Вашингтона, а также Лондонской национальной клиники нервных болезней. Настоящий момент Ричард Сайтовик занимает пост профессора-клинициста факультета Неврологии Университета Джорджа Вашингтона.

The IASAS, in partnership with our collaborating organizations, is delighted to announce that Dr. Richard Cytowic will present as the Keynote Speaker for Synaesthesia: Cross-sensory Aspects of Cognition across Science and Art. This symposium and its parallel series of arts events will be held in Moscow, Russia, October 17th through 20th 2019.

Richard E. Cytowic, MD, MFA is best known for returning synesthesia back to mainstream science after decades of disbelief. When he rediscovered it in 1979 his neurology colleagues dismissed the trait as bogus, warning that it was “too weird, too New Age” and would “ruin” his career — a typical reaction of orthodoxy to whatever it cannot or does not wish to understand.

Today, synesthesia is recognized as fundamental to understanding the human mind and the human condition. How do we understand people who are not like us? How do non–synesthetes understand cross–sensory metaphors like “loud color” or “sweet person?” These are just some of the questions this captivating perceptual trait raises.

Dr. Cytowic speaks to cultural institutions and performance venues worldwide. Past invitations include the Library of Congress’s “Music and the Brain” symposium, NASA, IBM’s brain-inspired computing, the Smithsonian Institution, the Istanbul Biennale, and the Hirshhorn museum. Three BBC documentaries chronicle his pioneering work.

He holds an MFA in Creative Writing from American University and is an alumnus of Duke, Wake Forest, and George Washington Universities, along with London’s National Hospital for Nervous Diseases. He is currently Clinical Professor of Neurology at George Washington University.

A Grand Collaboration

There’s a traditional Russian proverb that speaks to the value of alliances, coalitions, and teamwork:

“Бери́сь дру́жно, не бу́дет гру́зно”

“If all of us take hold of it together, it won’t feel so heavy” 

The IASAS is working diligently toward a grand collaboration in one of the world’s most captivating cities. Envision crisp air, leaves dappled in fall hues, as well as fewer tourists at Moscow’s remarkable museums and historical sites. Consider your many opportunities to hear the latest scientific findings on cross-modal perception, and to witness stunning art created by neurodivergent artists. Imagine a happy reunion with familiar colleagues, and a chance to make new friends within the synaesthesia community.

Autumn is one of the loveliest seasons to visit Moscow. Please join The International Association of Synaesthetes, Artists, and Scientists in October 2019 as we launch a series of events in beautiful Russia, including our Second Synaesthesia Symposium, hosted by Moscow State University of Psychology and Education.

The IASAS is delighted to partner with several exceptional organizations as we foster a grand collaboration celebrating the art and science of synaesthesia. We are honored to have the co-creative support and participation of:

Moscow State University of Psychology and Education

Moscow State Tchaikovsky Conservatory

Fundación Internacional Artecittà

United Kingdom Synesthesia Association

Russian Synesthesia Association

American Synesthesia Association 

Additional collaborators will be announced in the coming months, along with information about participating speakers, presenters, events, and venues.

We look forward to greeting you in Moscow with a warm Здравствуйте! You can learn more ways to say “hello” in Russian here.

CC Hart
IASAS Secretary

 

Leonardo Art Science Evening Rendezvous (LASER) @ UCLA

IASAS is delighted to support our Dance Coordinator and Synesthesia Dance Experience Artistic Director Appelusa in her presentation this evening at LASER, hosted by the University of California Los Angeles and the California Nanosystems Institute. Appelusa will speak about her experiences with multiple forms of synesthesia, and her determination to reveal polysynesthesia through her visual art. Joining Appelusa at LASER tonight are synesthete and master perfumer Daniel Krasofski, and Building Bridges Art Exchange Special Exhibitions Coordinator Daniel Schuster. Check out our live stream of this evening’s event here.

UCLA June 7

 

IASAS featured in The Huffington Post

HuffPo

The IASAS sponsored art exhibit “Synaesthesia: what is the taste of the color blue? is featured in the Huffington Post! Art critic, curator, and essayist Shana Nys Dambrot explores the impact of this interactive exhibition in her article “Please Do Touch the Art: What is the Taste of the Color Blue, at BBAX”. Ms. Drambot’s critique appears in the October 16th edition. And, the featured image “Blue Door” is by our very own IASAS Founding member and multi-talented artist Appelusa!

Additionally, Synaesthesia: what is the taste of the color blue? has been extended. Originally slated to close on October 21st, this exhibition has been held over to November 25th. If you’re in Los Angeles, please be our guest at this exciting installation. Admission is free to the public.

Tonight! Kaitlyn Hova at BBAX

Kaitlyn Hova and the Hovalin

Violinist, synaesthete, and entrepre-nerd Kaitlyn Hova wowed the audience at the IASAS Synaesthesia Symposium at UCLA Art|Sci Center with her performance on the Hovalin. This 3D printed violin was a labor of love for Kaitlyn and her husband Matt, but after many iterations, the final creation is stunning.

Join IASAS on October 21st at 5:00PM for Kaitlyn Hova in a rare Los Angeles area performance. Kaitlyn will talk about her experiences with synesthesia and play her Hovalin, which has been fitted with a luminous LED array that makes the instrument glow in the colors Kaitlyn sees when she hears specific pitches.

This event is FREE and open to the public. Saturday October 21st at 5:00PM

Building Bridges Art Exchange
2525 Michigan Avenue Unit F2
Santa Monica, CA

Thursday October 19th: Dr. Joel Salinas MD

Dr. Joel Salinas, MD, MBA

The International Association of Synaesthetes, Artists, and Scientists is honored to present an evening with Dr. Joel Salinas, MD, author of Mirror Touch; notes from a doctor who can feel your pain. On Thursday October 19th at 6:00PM Dr. Salinas with read from his captivating memoir at the Building Bridges Art Exchange gallery in Santa Monica, California, where attendees with be immersed in a stellar installation of synaesthetic art. A reception co-hosted by the Art|Sci Center at UCLA and Building Bridges Art Exchange will follow Dr. Salinas’ reading.

Mirror-Touch: notes from a doctor who can feel your pain will be available for purchase at this October 19th event, courtesy of Diesel Bookstore Brentwood, who will operate a “pop-up” bookshop. Additionally, Dr. Salinas will autograph your edition of Mirror Touch, as time permits.

This event is FREE and open to the public. Looking forward to seeing you on October 19th!

 

California Dreamin’

 

Fall is exceptionally pretty in SoCal. Cool, often overcast mornings give way to warm days and clear skies. It’s the perfect season to visit Los Angeles, even more so this autumn as IASAS launches a series of events focused on synaesthesia. Centered at the UCLA campus in the Westwood neighborhood, and the Building Bridges Art Exchange in Santa Monica, IASAS will host art installations, musical performances, lectures, and an academic synaesthesia symposium. Additionally, we are collaborating with LA Roller Girl and synesthete artist Appelusa as she creates an evening of music and dance curated through the lens of cross modal perception.

Hope to see you in sunny California!

CC Hart,
IASAS Secretary