Sean A. Jour

Président

Dr Sean A. Day, Ph.D. est né à Jackson, Michigan. Il a commencé ses études à l'Université de l'Indiana, avec une spécialisation en composition musicale, mais est finalement passé à l'anthropologie à l'Université Purdue. Il est titulaire d'une maîtrise en anthropologie de l'Université du Wisconsin et d'un doctorat. en linguistique de l'Université Purdue. Il a fondé la Synesthesia List, un forum international pour les synesthètes et les chercheurs en synesthésie, en 1992, tout en faisant des recherches pour sa thèse sur les métaphores synesthésiques.

Après avoir obtenu son doctorat en 1995, Day a enseigné la linguistique à l'Université Purdue pendant deux ans. En 1997, il a pris un poste de professeur associé à la National Central University, à Chungli, Taiwan, où il a enseigné l'anglais et la linguistique jusqu'en 2001 ; pendant ce temps, il a continué à maintenir la liste Synesthesia de Taiwan.

Dr Sean A. Day, Ph.D. est né à Jackson, Michigan. Il a commencé ses études à l'Université de l'Indiana, avec une spécialisation en composition musicale, mais est finalement passé à l'anthropologie à l'Université Purdue. Il est titulaire d'une maîtrise en anthropologie de l'Université du Wisconsin et d'un doctorat. en linguistique de l'Université Purdue. Il a fondé la Synesthesia List, un forum international pour les synesthètes et les chercheurs en synesthésie, en 1992, tout en faisant des recherches pour sa thèse sur les métaphores synesthésiques.

Après avoir obtenu son doctorat en 1995, Day a enseigné la linguistique à l'Université Purdue pendant deux ans. En 1997, il a pris un poste de professeur associé à la National Central University, à Chungli, Taiwan, où il a enseigné l'anglais et la linguistique jusqu'en 2001 ; pendant ce temps, il a continué à maintenir la liste Synesthesia de Taiwan.

En 2001, il est retourné aux États-Unis, occupant un poste de professeur invité enseignant la linguistique à l'Université de Miami, à Oxford, Ohio. En 2003, il a accepté un poste à la faculté du Trident Technical College, à Charleston, SC, où il enseigne maintenant l'anthropologie. Il a joué un rôle déterminant dans le développement de l'American Synesthesia Association en une organisation à but non lucratif, a aidé à organiser des conférences ASA et a été président de l'ASA de 2000 à 2016. Lui-même synesthète multiple, il a donné des conférences sur la synesthésie dans de nombreux forums à travers le monde, notamment à Taïwan, en Russie et en Espagne, et a été présenté dans des documentaires sur la synesthésie présentés dans des pays comme l'Australie, l'Équateur, le Japon, les Pays-Bas et le Royaume-Uni, ainsi qu'aux États-Unis et au Canada. Ses intérêts de recherche actuels incluent la synesthésie liée à la musique, les formes rares de synesthésie, et «l'ethnographie synesthète» et la démographie.

Anton Sidorov Dorso

Vice-président

Vice-président des études, de la science et de l'entreprise mondiale

Anton V. Sidoroff-Dorso, est un linguiste et psychologue basé à Moscou, membre du conseil d'administration fondateur de l'IASAS, professeur principal à l'Université pédagogique d'État de Moscou. Fondateur et moniteur scientifique de la communauté russe de synesthésie. Il a obtenu un diplôme de spécialiste complet en linguistique et en acquisition de la langue et a étudié diplôme post-universitaire (candidat en sciences) en psychologie à l'Université pédagogique d'État de Moscou, avec une thèse sur les différences individuelles chez les personnes atteintes de synesthésie. Ses recherches portent sur les aspects psychologiques et neurocognitifs généraux de la synesthésie, les mécanismes synesthésiques tels qu'ils sont envisagés dans les cadres de la psychologie culturelle et historique et de l'anthropologie cognitive. De plus, il est co-éditeur de la liste de bibliographie Leonardo : Synaesthesia in Art and Science de la revue interdisciplinaire Leonardo (MIT). Il siège au conseil d'administration de la Fondation Artecittà en tant que coordinateur international depuis 2012 et est membre du comité de rédaction de la revue internationale Synesthesia Journal (Artecittà). Il a également fondé la communauté russe Synaesthesia et surveille sa ressource Web synaesthesia.ru. et a initié et gère la base de données des synesthètes russophones (aujourd'hui environ 800 personnes). Il a traduit et adapté la version russe des tests en ligne multilingues mondiaux de la batterie de synesthésie et du test de cohérence de la synesthésie (MatLab Syntools).

Anton V. Sidoroff-Dorso, est un linguiste et psychologue basé à Moscou, membre du conseil d'administration fondateur de l'IASAS, professeur principal à l'Université pédagogique d'État de Moscou. Fondateur et moniteur scientifique de la communauté russe de synesthésie. Il a obtenu un diplôme de spécialiste complet en linguistique et en acquisition de la langue et a étudié diplôme post-universitaire (candidat en sciences) en psychologie à l'Université pédagogique d'État de Moscou, avec une thèse sur les différences individuelles chez les personnes atteintes de synesthésie.

Ses recherches portent sur les aspects psychologiques et neurocognitifs généraux de la synesthésie, les mécanismes synesthésiques tels qu'ils sont envisagés dans les cadres de la psychologie culturelle et historique et de l'anthropologie cognitive. De plus, il est co-éditeur de la liste de bibliographie Leonardo : Synaesthesia in Art and Science de la revue interdisciplinaire Leonardo (MIT). Il siège au conseil d'administration de la Fondation Artecittà en tant que coordinateur international depuis 2012 et est membre du comité de rédaction de la revue internationale Synesthesia Journal (Artecittà). Il a également fondé la communauté russe Synaesthesia et surveille sa ressource Web synaesthesia.ru. et a initié et gère la base de données des synesthètes russophones (aujourd'hui environ 800 personnes). Il a traduit et adapté la version russe des tests en ligne multilingues mondiaux de la batterie de synesthésie et du test de cohérence de la synesthésie (MatLab Syntools).

Il est également co-auteur de "An anthropology of synaesthesia", auteur et développeur de Synaesthesia Quotient et d'une batterie de tests multi-échelles associée. De plus, il a assisté et participé en tant que conférencier clé à la production de documentaires scientifiques sur les sens et la synesthésie. En 2019, en tant que coordinateur international, Anton Sidoroff-Dorso a organisé la 2e conférence internationale IASAS à Moscou, en Russie.

James Wanneton

Vice-président

Vice-président de l'art, des médias et de l'engagement communautaire

James Wanneton est un professionnel de l'informatique, artiste et écrivain anglais. Il éprouve une synesthésie du son au goût, y compris une synesthésie lexicale-gustative; c'est-à-dire qu'il peut goûter tous les sons, plus particulièrement les sons des mots. James est né à Manchester, en Angleterre, le 18 février 1959. Ses premières années se sont passées à Willesden, au nord-ouest de Londres, la famille déménageant de là à Chertsey, dans le Surrey, puis, au début de 1969, à Welwyn Garden City, dans le Hertfordshire. 

Après un séjour de 14 mois à Perth, en Australie-Occidentale, il a déménagé à Blackpool, dans le Lancashire. Il a fréquenté l'école primaire Stepgates à Surrey, l'école Rosedale à Welwyn Garden City, suivie de l'école Monks Walk, également à Welwyn Garden City. James a été l'un des premiers individus au Royaume-Uni à faire étudier et documenter ses expériences synesthésiques, apparaissant dans plus de 100 articles de recherche publiés dans le monde entier. En 2000, il s'est associé au professeur Jamie Ward de l'University College London et au professeur Julia Simner de l'Université d'Edimbourg. Il a également travaillé avec le professeur Simon Baron-Cohen et le Dr John Harrison à l'Université de Cambridge. 

James Wanneton est un professionnel de l'informatique, artiste et écrivain anglais. Il éprouve une synesthésie du son au goût, y compris une synesthésie lexicale-gustative; c'est-à-dire qu'il peut goûter tous les sons, plus particulièrement les sons des mots. James est né à Manchester, en Angleterre, le 18 février 1959. Ses premières années se sont passées à Willesden, au nord-ouest de Londres, la famille déménageant de là à Chertsey, dans le Surrey, puis, au début de 1969, à Welwyn Garden City, dans le Hertfordshire. 

Après un séjour de 14 mois à Perth, en Australie-Occidentale, il a déménagé à Blackpool, dans le Lancashire. Il a fréquenté l'école primaire Stepgates à Surrey, l'école Rosedale à Welwyn Garden City, suivie de l'école Monks Walk, également à Welwyn Garden City. James a été l'un des premiers individus au Royaume-Uni à faire étudier et documenter ses expériences synesthésiques, apparaissant dans plus de 100 articles de recherche publiés dans le monde entier. En 2000, il s'est associé au professeur Jamie Ward de l'University College London et au professeur Julia Simner de l'Université d'Edimbourg. Il a également travaillé avec le professeur Simon Baron-Cohen et le Dr John Harrison à l'Université de Cambridge. 

En 2006, James a été élu président de la UK Synaesthesia Association (UKSA) avec pour mission de rehausser le profil et la sensibilisation générale à la synesthésie via des volets médiatiques et des projets et collaborations art / science. Il est également vice-président de l'Association internationale des synesthètes, artistes et scientifiques (IASAS), basée aux États-Unis. Dans les deux rôles, il encourage activement d'autres synesthètes à parler de leurs expériences sensorielles uniques et fascinantes. Ses intérêts personnels pour la synesthésie s'étendent à la recherche sur la perception cognitive, l'intuition, le raisonnement et la dissonance cognitive et il a fait l'objet d'un certain nombre d'articles de recherche publiés et d'articles d'intérêt général sur le sujet de la synesthésie en Europe, aux États-Unis, en Chine, en Russie et Australie. Il a présenté de nombreuses conférences internationales sur la neurologie et la synesthésie et donne régulièrement des présentations dans des écoles, des collèges, des installations du National Health Service et d'autres lieux publics. Il a figuré dans des documentaires télévisés et radiodiffusés par la BBC, ITV, les chaînes 4 et 5, ABC, CBS, NBC et Discovery Channel pour une diffusion en Europe, en Asie, en Afrique du Sud, en Australie et aux États-Unis. James a enregistré des vidéos éducatives sur synaesthesia pour la Commission pour l'égalité et les droits de l'homme et Wellcome Trust et a joué un rôle déterminant dans la création du site Web de synesthésie National Health Service Choices qui transmet désormais des informations précises et à jour sur la synesthésie dans chaque cabinet médical au Royaume-Uni. Les réalisations artistiques de James incluent un «Synaesthesia Garden» primé exposé au Royal Hampton Court Palace Flower Show 2015 et une installation interactive son / vision pour goûter à la synesthésie au Victoria and Albert Museum de Londres. Il a également des œuvres d'art exposées en permanence à l'Université d'Édimbourg et au Trapholt Museum of Modern Art au Danemark. Il a également été interviewé pour des articles dans la presse nationale britannique ainsi qu'en Europe, aux États-Unis, en Afrique et en Australasie. Une interview de 2011 sur le blog Wellcome Trust comprend des détails sur son enfance et comment la synesthésie a influencé son choix d'amis, son travail et ses relations.

CC Hart

Secrétaire

CC Hart est un artiste, un auteur et un défenseur de la neurodiversité. Ses sens sont entrelacés via 17 formes différentes de synesthésie, qui informent son écriture, son art visuel, sa conception de costumes et sa longue carrière en thérapie manuelle. Elle continue d'apprendre comment son cerveau divergent crée à la fois des opportunités et des obstacles dans sa vie et elle soutient l'argument selon lequel les traits neurodivers ne sont pas des pathologies, mais représentent une partie du spectre de l'expérience somatosensorielle, intellectuelle et cognitive humaine. CC Hart est membre fondateur du conseil d'administration de l'Association internationale des synesthètes, artistes et scientifiques.

CC Hart est un artiste, un auteur et un défenseur de la neurodiversité. Ses sens sont entrelacés via 17 formes différentes de synesthésie, qui informent son écriture, son art visuel, sa conception de costumes et sa longue carrière en thérapie manuelle. Elle continue d'apprendre comment son cerveau divergent crée à la fois des opportunités et des obstacles dans sa vie et elle soutient l'argument selon lequel les traits neurodivers ne sont pas des pathologies, mais représentent une partie du spectre de l'expérience somatosensorielle, intellectuelle et cognitive humaine. CC Hart est membre fondateur du conseil d'administration de l'Association internationale des synesthètes, artistes et scientifiques.

Christine Söffing

Membre

Christine Söffing est artiste et synesthète. Elle a étudié l'histoire de l'art, l'éducation artistique, la psychologie, la pédagogie et l'informatique à Münster, Erlangen-Nuremberg et Augsbourg. En 1991/92, elle est co-fondatrice de l'école d'art Palette eV pour enfants et adolescents à Augsbourg. Depuis 1992, elle est artiste indépendante, éducatrice d'adultes, éducatrice de musée et conférencière.

Depuis 2010, elle est responsable indépendante du groupe Experimental Music & Art & Multimedia (EMU) et coordinatrice artistique du Musisches Zentrum de l'Université d'Ulm. Elle est membre fondateur du conseil d'administration de l'Association internationale des synesthètes, artistes et scientifiques.

Christine Söffing est artiste et synesthète. Elle a étudié l'histoire de l'art, l'éducation artistique, la psychologie, la pédagogie et l'informatique à Münster, Erlangen-Nuremberg et Augsbourg. En 1991/92, elle est co-fondatrice de l'école d'art Palette eV pour enfants et adolescents à Augsbourg. Depuis 1992, elle est artiste indépendante, éducatrice d'adultes, éducatrice de musée et conférencière.

Depuis 2010, elle est responsable indépendante du groupe Experimental Music & Art & Multimedia (EMU) et coordinatrice artistique du Musisches Zentrum de l'Université d'Ulm. Elle est membre fondateur du conseil d'administration de l'Association internationale des synesthètes, artistes et scientifiques.

Sean A. Day

President

Dr. Sean A. Day, PhD was born in Jackson, Michigan.  He began college at Indiana University, majoring in Music Composition, but eventually switched to Anthropology at Purdue University.  He holds an M.A. in Anthropology from the University of Wisconsin, and a Ph.D. in Linguistics from Purdue University.  He founded the Synesthesia List, an international forum for synesthetes and synesthesia researchers, in 1992, while doing research towards his dissertation on synesthetic metaphors.

After receiving his doctorate in 1995, Day taught Linguistics at Purdue University for two years.  In 1997, he took an Associate Professor position at National Central University, in Chungli, Taiwan, where he taught English and Linguistics until 2001; during this time, he continued to maintain the Synesthesia List from Taiwan.

Dr. Sean A. Day, PhD was born in Jackson, Michigan.  He began college at Indiana University, majoring in Music Composition, but eventually switched to Anthropology at Purdue University.  He holds an M.A. in Anthropology from the University of Wisconsin, and a Ph.D. in Linguistics from Purdue University.  He founded the Synesthesia List, an international forum for synesthetes and synesthesia researchers, in 1992, while doing research towards his dissertation on synesthetic metaphors.

After receiving his doctorate in 1995, Day taught Linguistics at Purdue University for two years.  In 1997, he took an Associate Professor position at National Central University, in Chungli, Taiwan, where he taught English and Linguistics until 2001; during this time, he continued to maintain the Synesthesia List from Taiwan.

In 2001, he moved back to the United States, taking a Visiting Professor position teaching Linguistics at Miami University, in Oxford, Ohio.  In 2003, he took a position on the faculty of Trident Technical College, in Charleston, SC, where he now teaches anthropology.  He was instrumental in developing the American Synesthesia Association into a nonprofit organization, assisted in organizing ASA conferences, and served as the ASA President from 2000 to 2016.  A multiple synesthete himself, he has given talks about synesthesia in numerous different forums around the world, including in Taiwan, Russia, and Spain, and has been featured in documentaries on synesthesia presented in such countries as Australia, Ecuador, Japan, the Netherlands, and the UK, as well as in the US and Canada.  His current research interests include music-related synesthesia, rare forms of synesthesia, and “synesthete ethnography” and demographics.

Anton Sidorov Dorso

Vice President

VP of Academics, Science, and Global Enterprise

Anton V. Sidoroff-Dorso, is a Moscow-based linguist and psychologist, a founding board member of IASAS, a Senior Teacher at Moscow Pedagogical State University Founder and science monitor of the Russian Synaesthesia Community He received a full specialist degree in linguistics and language acquisition, and studied for a post-graduation degree (Candidate of Sciences) in psychology at Moscow Pedagogical State University, with a dissertation on individual differences in people with synaesthesia. His research focuses on general psychological and neurocognitive aspects of synaesthesia, synaesthetic mechanisms as viewed in the frameworks of cultural-historical psychology and cognitive anthropology. Additionally, he is the co-editor of the Leonardo Bibliography list: Synaesthesia in Art and Science of the interdisciplinary journal Leonardo (MIT). He has served on the Board of the Artecittà Foundation as its International Coordinator since 2012, and is a member of the editorial board of the international Synesthesia Journal (Artecitta). He also founded the Russian Synaesthesia Community and monitors its web-resource synaesthesia.ru. and initiated and manages the data-base of Russian-speaking synaesthetes (now approx. 800 people). He translated and adapted the Russian-language version of the worldwide multilingual online tests of the Synesthesia Battery and the Consistency Test of Synaesthesia (MatLab Syntools).

Anton V. Sidoroff-Dorso, is a Moscow-based linguist and psychologist, a founding board member of IASAS, a Senior Teacher at Moscow Pedagogical State University Founder and science monitor of the Russian Synaesthesia Community He received a full specialist degree in linguistics and language acquisition, and studied for a post-graduation degree (Candidate of Sciences) in psychology at Moscow Pedagogical State University, with a dissertation on individual differences in people with synaesthesia.

His research focuses on general psychological and neurocognitive aspects of synaesthesia, synaesthetic mechanisms as viewed in the frameworks of cultural-historical psychology and cognitive anthropology. Additionally, he is the co-editor of the Leonardo Bibliography list: Synaesthesia in Art and Science of the interdisciplinary journal Leonardo (MIT). He has served on the Board of the Artecittà Foundation as its International Coordinator since 2012, and is a member of the editorial board of the international Synesthesia Journal (Artecitta). He also founded the Russian Synaesthesia Community and monitors its web-resource synaesthesia.ru. and initiated and manages the data-base of Russian-speaking synaesthetes (now approx. 800 people). He translated and adapted the Russian-language version of the worldwide multilingual online tests of the Synesthesia Battery and the Consistency Test of Synaesthesia (MatLab Syntools).

He is also a co-author of “An anthropology of synaesthesia”, author and developer of Synaesthesia Quotient and a related multi-scale test battery. Additionally, he assisted and participated as key speaker in the production of science documentaries on the senses and synaesthesia. In 2019, as International coordinator, Anton Sidoroff-Dorso organized the 2nd IASAS International Conference in Moscow, Russia.

James Wannerton

Vice President

VP of Art, Media, and Community Engagement

James Wannerton is an English IT professional, artist and writer.  He experiences sound to taste synaesthesia, including lexical-gustatory synaesthesia;  i.e.  he can taste all sounds, most significantly  word sounds. James was born in Manchester, England on 18 February 1959.  His early years were spent in Willesden, North West London, the family moving from there to Chertsey, Surrey, and then, in early 1969, to Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire. 

Following a 14-month stay in Perth, Western Australia, he moved to Blackpool, Lancashire. He attended Stepgates Primary School in Surrey, Rosedale School in Welwyn Garden City followed by Monks Walk School, also in Welwyn Garden City. James was one of the first individuals in the UK to have his synaesthetic experiences studied and documented, appearing in over 100 published research papers world-wide.  In 2000, he teamed up with Professor Jamie Ward at University College London and Professor Julia Simner at the University of Edinburgh.  He has also worked with Professor Simon Baron-Cohen and Dr John Harrison at Cambridge University. 

James Wannerton is an English IT professional, artist and writer.  He experiences sound to taste synaesthesia, including lexical-gustatory synaesthesia;  i.e.  he can taste all sounds, most significantly  word sounds. James was born in Manchester, England on 18 February 1959.  His early years were spent in Willesden, North West London, the family moving from there to Chertsey, Surrey, and then, in early 1969, to Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire. 

Following a 14-month stay in Perth, Western Australia, he moved to Blackpool, Lancashire. He attended Stepgates Primary School in Surrey, Rosedale School in Welwyn Garden City followed by Monks Walk School, also in Welwyn Garden City. James was one of the first individuals in the UK to have his synaesthetic experiences studied and documented, appearing in over 100 published research papers world-wide.  In 2000, he teamed up with Professor Jamie Ward at University College London and Professor Julia Simner at the University of Edinburgh.  He has also worked with Professor Simon Baron-Cohen and Dr John Harrison at Cambridge University. 

In 2006, James was elected as President of the UK Synaesthesia Association (UKSA) with a remit to raise the profile and general awareness of synaesthesia via media strands and art/science projects and collaborations.  He is also Vice President of the International Association of Synaesthetes, Artists and Scientists (IASAS), based in the USA.  Within both roles he actively encourages other synaesthetes to speak about their unique and fascinating sensory experiences.  His personal interests in synaesthesia extend to researching cognitive perception, intuition, reasoning and cognitive dissonance and he has been the subject of a number of published research papers and general interest articles on the subject of synaesthesia in Europe, the United States, China, Russia and Australia.He has presented at many international neurology and synaesthesia conferences and regularly gives presentations at schools, colleges, National Health Service facilities and other public venues. He has featured in TV and radio documentaries broadcast by the BBC, ITV, Channels 4 & 5, ABC, CBS, NBC and the Discovery Channel for broadcast across Europe, Asia, South Africa, Australia and the USA.James has recorded educational videos about synaesthesia for the Equality & Human Rights Commission and Wellcome Trust and was instrumental in the setting up of the National Health Service Choices synaesthesia web site which now pipes accurate and up to date information on synaesthesia into every GP surgery in the UK.James’s artistic achievements include an award winning “Synaesthesia Garden” exhibited at the 2015 Royal Hampton Court Palace Flower Show and an interactive sound/vision to taste synaesthesia installation at the Victoria and Albert museum, London.  He also has artworks on permanent display at Edinburgh University and the Trapholt Museum of Modern Art in Denmark. He has also been interviewed for articles in the UK National press as well as in Europe, the USA, Africa and Australasia.  A 2011 interview on the Wellcome Trust blog includes details of his childhood and how synaesthesia has influenced his choice of friends, job and his relationships.

CC Hart

Secretary

CC Hart is an artist, an author, and neurodiversity advocate. Her senses are intertwined via 17 different forms of synaesthesia, which informs her writing, her visual art, her costume design, and her long career in manual therapy. She is continuing to learn how her divergent brain creates both opportunities and obstacles in her life and she supports the argument that neurodiverse traits are not pathologies, but represent part of the spectrum of human somatosensory, intellectual, and cognitive experience. CC Hart is a founding board member of the International Association of Synaesthetes, Artists, and Scientists.

CC Hart is an artist, an author, and neurodiversity advocate. Her senses are intertwined via 17 different forms of synaesthesia, which informs her writing, her visual art, her costume design, and her long career in manual therapy. She is continuing to learn how her divergent brain creates both opportunities and obstacles in her life and she supports the argument that neurodiverse traits are not pathologies, but represent part of the spectrum of human somatosensory, intellectual, and cognitive experience. CC Hart is a founding board member of the International Association of Synaesthetes, Artists, and Scientists.

Christine Söffing

Board Member

Christine Söffing is an artist and synaesthete. She studied art history, art education, psychology, pedagogy and computer science in Münster, Erlangen-Nuremberg and Augsburg. In 1991/92 she was a co-founder of the Palette eV art school for children and young people in Augsburg. Since 1992 she has been a freelance artist, adult educator, museum educator and lecturer.

Since 2010 she has been the freelance head of the Experimental Music & Art & Multimedia (EMU) group and artistic coordinator of the Musisches Zentrum at the University of Ulm. She is a founding board member of the International Association of Synaesthetes, Artists and Scientists.

Christine Söffing is an artist and synaesthete. She studied art history, art education, psychology, pedagogy and computer science in Münster, Erlangen-Nuremberg and Augsburg. In 1991/92 she was a co-founder of the Palette eV art school for children and young people in Augsburg. Since 1992 she has been a freelance artist, adult educator, museum educator and lecturer.

Since 2010 she has been the freelance head of the Experimental Music & Art & Multimedia (EMU) group and artistic coordinator of the Musisches Zentrum at the University of Ulm. She is a founding board member of the International Association of Synaesthetes, Artists and Scientists.